New Build, I'm New to Raid, Whats my Best Solution

Stalzy

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2011
This is the rig I am putting together.

Purpose: Gaming, FRAPS (Video Capture, Hi-Quality raw footage, Video editing/Encoding, Graphic/Webdesign, etc..

I've read around, and still cannot come up with a proper configuration. For fraps, which takes CPU processing power and a lot of Hard Drive writing power, what setup IS best for performance and redundancy? My OS, some games, and apps will be loaded onto the SSD. But for video capture what is the best way to do this? I want to be able to recover files, incase of hard drive failure. There is going to be a lot of video footage.

So far I'm thinking for capturing video is to put 2x500GB WD Black drive in Raid0 and have a 1TB as a storage backup.
Or even 4x500GBWD drives in Raid10. I'm just not sure how I want to do this. I want to spend the least amount possible but also have the space, and protection I need for these precious files.

Could someone help point me in the right direction?

CASE: Cooler Master Haf 932

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 Memory

SSD: Crucial M4 SSD Micron C400 128GB

HD's: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB

CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K Quad Core Unlocked Processor

Motherboard: ASRock Z68 PROFESSIONAL GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX

GPU: Zotac GeForce GTX 580 Fermi 772MHZ 1536MB

Power Supply: OCZ Z-SERIES 1000W 80+ Gold Certified 24PIN ATX 83A 12V Afc Modular Power Supply W/ 135mm Fan

CPU Cooler Antec Kuhler H20 620 Liquid CPU Cooling System LGA775/1155/1156/1366 AM2/AM3/AM3/FM1 + 2000RPM

I guess I should add this system will be running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

legendkiller

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2011
Have you bought those or not? Dont get ASRock because they are like the low-end motherboard or in my opinion because i just dont like them so dont hate lol...