Can't install sound drivers

dobspoon

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2009
Hi - would be v grateful for any help. I recently reinstalled XP on my desktop following a nasty Trojan incident and since then have had no sound. I have a ! by the device in High Definition Audio Bus in Device Manager which says that the drivers aren't installed. I received advice from Arbico relating to the drivers I need - however, I can't seem to install them. I was advised to uninstall them first using 'add/remove programs' (OK, it might have been hardware, I'm a novice) but this didn't work. The guy on support said that the drivers might be corrupt but he didn't know and that I should ask this community.

Can anybody help? Please? I want to hear beautiful music!

Best greetings of the season etc

Chris

dobspoon

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2009
This is the error message I get from trying to install the Realtek driver

"Install Realtek HD Audio Driver Failure !!
[Error Code: 0xE0000227]

LoneWolf_53

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2009
Hello dobspoon.

It would likely help a lot if you'd provide the details of your PC as in make, model, etc.

If you've just reformatted and have an ! in device manager then the drivers simply haven't been installed yet.

Also are there any other ! visible in your device manager?

When you do a reformat you have to install all the motherboard drivers.

LoneWolf_53

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2009
I also hunted around a bit and it seems there are a lot of folks with issues installing Realtek HD drivers.

One thing you might try is... In the Device Manager under System devices uninstall the Microsoft UAA Bus Driver for High Definition Audio then try installing your drivers.

Another method to try is ..........

1) Uninstall the Realtek software through Add/Remove Programs (if it's installed but not working)
2) In Device Manager, remove the high definition audio device under Sound, video & game controllers.
Now for the part that had me stuck: