First time water cooling - Explanations, and guidance!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gobble45

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2011
Hello all!
This is my first time considering a water cooled system.
Firstly; my current setup is:
CPU= Intel Core i5 2500k OC'd to 4.4Ghz
MOBO= Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Motherboard
RAM= 2x 4Gb G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133mhz
HSF= CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ CPU Cooler (With stock fan that comes with the HSF & BitFenix Spectre 120mm. These 2 fans are in a push/pull arrangement)
GPU= MSI GeForce GTX 580 Twin Frozr II Overclocked
PSU= XFX Core Edition Pro 750W
Case= Antec 1200 V3
HDD= 2x 1Tb 3.5" Disk 7200rpm (1 is samsung, 1 is seagate)
Disk Drive= Lite-On IHAS524 24x DVDRW Super AllWrite

Current uses:
- Gaming (Duh.. ). Games include: World of Warcraft, League of Legends, Call of Duty (The Series), Battlefield 3, Skyrim (Not much anymore though), Starcraft II, Diablo III (if we ever get our hands on it...
- Alot of web browsing (Facebook, eBay, Youtube, Etc..)
- Watching videos etc.
- I HAVE, but not recently done some video/image editing. (Photoshop, Aftereffects...)
- Website Development (Dreamweaver)

Its a great system for what i use it for.
Idle CPU temps are about 38-40 degrees Celsius,
and under load its about 45-50 degrees Celsius.

Im looking into water cooling, and i need a few questions answered.

Questions:
#1 - Is it worth the extra cash to water cool my system? budget is ~$400.
#2 - What temperatures will i get roughly? (this one is a tricky one, due to all the factors involved).
#3 - Are the following parts compatible?
Pump= EK-DCP 4.0 12V DC Pump
Radiator= Black Ice SR1 240 Radiator
Resevoir= XSPC Acrylic Single 5.25” Bay Reservoir
CPU Waterblock= XSPC RayStorm CPU Waterblock for Intel
GPU Waterblock= EK Full Cover VGA Block EK-FC580