Sign in with
Your question
Solved

No video signal and no USB power

Last response: in Systems
October 14, 2009 3:20:06 AM

Hey guys! Noobie here and I'm pretty much stumped before I ever got started. This is my first build.

CPU I7 920 stock cooler
MB Asus Revolution
RAM Crucial 3x2GB Ballistix Tracer 1600 Mhz
GPU BFG GTX 285 (2 DVI outs)
PSU Enermax Rev 1050W
HDD WD Cav. Black 1TB (sata)
DVD HP 1270 (sata)
CASE Antec 1200
MONITOR Samsung 2443bwx (DVI and VGA)

Yesterday I had gotten everything installed but have been tired of waiting on W7 so I thought I'd try XP Pro SP2. Monitor on, PSU on, hit power and monitor says "check signal cable". :ange:  So I check connection (vga with a DVI adapter), same thing. I switch to the DVI to DVI cable, same message. I reconnected the monitor to my old Dell and it works fine. The GPU fan is working so power is there. MB LED is on so power is there but I rechecked the 24p and 8p connectors just in case. The 3 RAM card leds are flashing as well so I got power there.

I restarted everything, inserted the OS disk and hit reset just to check but get the same "check signal cable". So I disconnected the DVD and HD and reseated the RAM but no change. I got a cheap GPU with a DVI and VGA connection and no change.

It wasn't until tonight that I realized that the red light on the USB mouse was not lit and then I noticed that the CAPS light on the USB keyboard was not lit either. So I try all 6 usbs off the MB, the 2 from the module cable, the 2 on the front of the case...no power. I plug the KB and mouse into the old Dell and they work fine.

The GPU is in slot #1 according to the manual for a single VGA card. The RAM is in slots A1, B1, and C1 which is the setup for 3 cards.

Am I missing something painfully obvious?

Thanks!

More about : video signal usb power

Best solution

October 14, 2009 3:07:59 PM
October 15, 2009 3:35:15 AM