[A poor man needs your help]Palit GTS 250 1GB no display

jerkshop

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2009
Hello there guys its my first time to register to a community and ask a question.

So my problem is my newly purchased GTS 250 made by Palit, I have no display if I connect the VGA connector to the card but when I connect the VGA connector to the onboard VGA it works. So seems to me that the card is not being detected as the primary video adapter. What I did was try to change the BIOS settings and forcing it to choose PCIe but still it did not work and still it's booting to use the onboard VGA. I wonder why is that happening that it still boots on the onboard VGA even if the video card is plug into the systemboard. According to some people it's with power that the card is not getting enough power from my PSU but they cannot answer the question why is it booting on my onboard VGA. Ofcourse it should still detect the videocard and not boot on the onboard VGA if the problem is regarding power, correct me if I'm wrong with that. Also the video card fan is rotating, I do not experience hearing beeps on my system board or anything else. I also tried updating my BIOS still no luck.

My old card was an Inno3D 9800GT which is 1GB and it works just fine on my system. Before I purchased the video card I tried to check reviews and its system requirements. According to some documentations, the Palit GTS 250 Green Edition requires 450W, 25A, and 12V to work comparing it to the Inno3D 9800GT which requires 500W, 30A, and 12V to work. I just wonder if it has something to do with my PSU but the thing that questions me is that power requirements are just the same why is it the card is not being detected? So I unplug and replug the card many times making sure that its correctly inserted to the PCIe slot. Cleaning the PCIe slot is such a good idea but I can't risk to use a brush, may a toothbrush I believe?

So what seems to be the problem here?