sputnick

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2012
I think my problem may be my PSU. When I overclock my cpu, I get restarts while gaming. I don't think my overclock is to aggressive +.06ghz. 2.4ghz to 3.0. I have my memory set to sli expert, unlinked, 1333mhz fsb, and 1066mhz ram,
5,5,5,15,2T timings manual, memory voltage set to 2.1V everything else is set to auto. I ran prime95 blend test for 2hrs. with no problems My CPU temp never went higher than 62c. If I don't overclock I have no problems. I really want to get to 3.0ghz. If it's my PSU than I have no problem getting a new one. I am no pro and I have been doing alot of research online trying to figure this out myself. I have a little money to fix this problem. My rig is older but still goes and games like a champ.

System Specs.
CPU: Q6600 GO
MOBO: Evga 780i
RAM: Gskill 4 gigs 2x2 1066mhz Pi Black
PSU: ABS Tagan BZ 900watt
CPU COOLER:Freezer Pro 7
GPU:Evga 9800 gtx ssc 65nm

COLGeek

Cybernaut
You have way more than enough PSU to OC your system. I would recommend you don't OC your memory and focus on your GPU and CPU. OCing memory often leads to unstable systems and the performance gains from OCed memory is minimal.

Given your situation, drop the memory to stock and see if the system stabilizes. Good luck!

sputnick

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2012
I read in other forums that a restart from gaming is most likely a failing PSU! But I haven't read one that answered my question. When you say drop the memory to stock are you saying link and sync? My ram is 1066mhz and thats what it is set to. I am a noob when it comes to this but I am really interested in getting a stable 3.0ghz oc.

sputnick

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2012

They are good, like I said I ran prime95 blend for 2 hours with no fail temps never went above 62c, and my gpu never gets above 56c when I game.