Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need boot help, serious problem

Last response: in Systems
October 15, 2009 11:26:47 PM

I am a first time builder. I had an old tower and I decided to buy all the components and install myself.

I put it all together and turned it on, the led on the motherboard flashed once and the fan on the cpu, psu, and video card gave about half a spin, then the system shut off. No sound on the system speakers.

Took it all apart, went with the breadboarding advice. Hooked up only the psu and the cpu with its fan, plugged in the 24 pin power cord and the 4 pin cpu power. Turned it on with the same result.

Took off and reinstalled the cpu, took the RAM in and out. Nothing, not even a beep. I was very careful during construction. The only thing I can think of (other than just plain faulty components) is that I was not grounded at all times during assembly.

PSU: OCZ Modxstream-pro 500W power supply
CPU: Intel i5 with stock fan
Motherboard: MSI P55-CD53

I need some advice. At least how can I narrow down which component doesnt work

More about : boot problem

a b à CPUs
October 15, 2009 11:58:20 PM

So now the system does nothing when you press the power button?
Try using the power button on the motherboard to rule out a problem with the case or front panel connectors.
You've probably already done this if you've breadboarded the system. If nothing at all happens, either the motherboard isn't functioning at all or the power supply is shot. If your processor or RAM was no good, the motherboard should at least turn on and give you a beep code.
If you have another modern power supply, you could try booting the system with it. If you have some means of testing the power supply (the guts to your old computer perhaps) then do so.
I suspect the motherboard, though. If all else fails RMA it.
m
l
a b à CPUs
October 16, 2009 12:16:35 AM

Is the PSU switch on?
m
l
Related resources
October 16, 2009 12:20:53 AM

buildingnewpc said: