Sign in with
Your question

Newbie needs help choosing PSU

Last response: in Components
January 2, 2010 5:33:07 AM

I am new to computer harware and want to upgrade my crappy 300W generic HP PSU. I bought a new GT240gfx card and the recomended PSU is a 450 ( according to Asus). I want a PSU that is going to provide opprotunity for possible upgrade of another hd and new/better gfx card. I would like the cheapest, yet best product for my buck.

Thanks for your help!

More about : newbie choosing psu

January 2, 2010 5:52:47 AM

You don't mention budget but this one seems reasonable and should do the trick for you plus the reviews are positive....... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Note: Since you mentioned HP you might want to do a little research as you haven't shared what model you have and some of the older ones may have had some proprietary tendencies.

Probably isn't an issue as I know some have replaced their HP PSU's with regular Corsairs but it doesn't hurt to be cautious.
m
l
January 2, 2010 6:06:16 AM

hp: P6228P

Manufacturer # AV021AA#ABA
processor brand AMD
processor model Athlon II X4 Quad-Core
memory 8 GB
hard drive capacity 640 GB
optical drive DVD±RW/DVD-RAM/DVD±R Double Layer
operating system Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
processor speed 2.6 GHz
frontside bus speed 4000 MHz
memory speed PC2-6400

I am also fairly new to installing hardware. Is a psu pretty easy to install?
m
l
Related resources
January 2, 2010 6:28:16 AM

i would recomend the corsair tx450.

a brilliant PSU, stable and inexpensive. and it can actually supply a fair bit more than the 450w its rated at. it should be enough to power pretty much any singel GPU system.

you dont want to skimp on a PSU, its the most important part of a build. corsair are one of the best manufacters, and IMO they are the best at their price point.
m
l
January 2, 2010 6:29:37 AM