Trying to reinstall windows 7 BIOS problem

robman12

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2010
I'm not sure if I'm suppose to make a new post on this because I had a another thread on another issue which I just fixed however yet I have another problem. I'm trying to reinstall windows 7 64bit so I went into the BIOS and set the first boot device as my DVD drive. However the system goes into the PCI/DMI screen and says "press any key to boot from CD or DVD" So I push enter but it still boots off the hard drive and loads up windows. I made it so my 2nd and 3rd boot devices were disabled so it should only boot from the CD but it still bypasses and starts windows again. I need to delete my current partition make a new one and reinstall windows. I'm a noob yes but we all need to learn somehow :lol:

Specs:
Gigabyte EP45-UD3L LGA 775 motherboard (rev 1.1)
Intel Core 2 Quad
Q8300 stock
2gb Kingston HyperX PC2-8500
Visiontek ATI Radeon 3870 512mb GDDR4
250gb Western Digital Caviar Blue 16mb cache 7200rpm
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Antec Basiq BP550 550 watt modular PSU

Solution
I finally recalled what I was thinking of: I had remarked before that I had no idea what enabling "USB Keyboard Support" setting on the "Integrated Peripherals" page of the BIOS did, as I had never seen a GB board the would not allow you to 'work in' the BIOS with it set either way; a few 'oopses' showed this as the problem. The BIOS apparently contains a 'driver stub' to 'handle' USB keyboards; the windoze install kernel also apparently has a similar stub, so it can work before actual USB drivers are loaded; it's in between these two events that you 'need' the "USB Keyboard Support" setting on the "Integrated Peripherals" page enabled, or it can't see that 'any' key!! [:bilbat:9]

I'm laughing because I think every single...

bilbat

Splendid