Sign in with
Your question

PSU broke, but why

Last response: in Components
January 3, 2010 2:11:51 PM

My old PSU broke, but I'm not sure why.
It lights the mobo but does not boot even when there is no RAM. Also the CPU fan does not run.
Replaced the PSU and all works again.

Now a worthy mention.
In my house, when the refrigerator kicks in, the light goes dim.
Does this kill PSU?

If so, what do I need to do?

Thanks.

More about : psu broke

a b ) Power supply
January 3, 2010 2:27:33 PM

I'm not an electrician. For the psu, use a quality brand such as corsair, antec, seasonic, pc power and coolling, ocz, or enermax and it may last longer. And which light goes dim?
m
l
January 3, 2010 2:41:45 PM

Ceiling light.
m
l
Related resources
a b ) Power supply
January 3, 2010 2:47:13 PM

No telling why the light goes dimm. I would ask someone else for an opinion on the dimming light, especially if your house is over 60 years old.
m
l
January 3, 2010 2:50:29 PM

Your old PSU may have been a poor quality brand, they tend to be more likely to fail, but even PSUs from good brands can fail.

As for the lights dimming you probably have a bad electrical system in you home that could have caused the problem, it might be worth investing in a UPS (Uninteruptable Power Suply).
m
l
a b ) Power supply
January 3, 2010 2:55:28 PM

apparently having imperfect/fluctuating power to the PSU slowly "erodes"the internal components. for example, when a powersucking appliance in my house turns on, the lights get dim for a second and the Mad Dog MultiMedia 350W PSU in my p4 system makes a funny clicking sound. however, its a relatively not used much psu so its not dying now(even with the c*ck-*ss fan mod) but it may be a problem in the long run!
m
l
a b ) Power supply
January 3, 2010 4:54:52 PM

djcoolmasterx said:
Your old PSU may have been a poor quality brand, they tend to be more likely to fail, but even PSUs from good brands can fail.