Sign in with
Your question
Closed

120mm rad for CPU

Last response: in Overclocking
February 5, 2012 1:21:07 AM

Does anyone know a good 120mm rad (I'm flexible as far as thickness goes) for cooling an i7 2600k CPU on its own? This is my first build, so I selected a Phantom 410 case, and am now finding that it really doesn't have enough internal space for watercooling a CPU and a crossfire/sli setup. I can't get rid of it either, since my wife bought it for me for Christmas. The only way I can make it work is to save the 240mm space up top for the GPUs (it can house a dual thickness radiator, supposedly) and then use a thick 120mm for the CPU on the base of the case next to the power supply.

I'm gonna want to overclock the i7 pretty significantly (not something crazy, but definitely the 4.5-5.0 Ghz range if possible), and I want to know if there is a good 120mm rad people suggest for this. I've looked into XSPC's RX120, and it seems like it would work well. Does that seem sufficient to you guys? There's gonna be two loops, so that would mean two pumps (prolly MCP655's) and XSPC's dual 5.25" split bay reservoir reservoir. Price is really no object here, so however I can make this set up work I'll make happen - just tell me what you think and what thoughts/suggestions/ideas you have.

More about : 120mm rad cpu

February 5, 2012 3:06:18 AM

I actually have an XSPC RX120 radiator. I'll sell it to you at low price if you wan't it. It's never been used. I was actually trying to put it in my case but it's so thick (with push & pull fans) it covered part of my top exhaust fan so I decided to purchased a slimmer rad.
Let me know if you're interested.
Score
February 5, 2012 4:01:46 AM

Yeah, I'm definitely interested Cheaptrick...I just need to hear a bit more about the rad and how it does with a CPU all by itself before I commit. I take it your research showed it was sufficient? Wish you had actually installed it so you could tell me how effective it was...
Score