Sign in with
Your question
Closed

GA-MA785G-UD3H what bios??

Last response: in Motherboards
April 9, 2010 12:37:24 AM

i have just bought the gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H motherboard, and have a list of all the parts i want to built an htpc. this is my first build. on the reviews of the mb at newegg, people have mentioned having to put in an am2 cpu then flash the bios and switch out to an am3 cpu. at some point the boards are sent out with the latest bios and you don't need to do that, just pop in the am3 and it is good to go. but how do i know what bios version the board shipped with? newegg no longer has the board, so i bought it somewhere else, no way of knowing if this is up to date that i can see. gigabyte has not answered me. i can see the board revision, but that is the only one, version 1.0, so it does not really mean the bios version, and i see no other mention of how to tell what bios it came with. can i just put in an am3 and flash if needed? or would i really need to put in the am2 or am2+ first? i don't want to buy 2 processors and fans.

More about : ma785g ud3h bios

April 9, 2010 12:51:19 AM

Well the first question is which cpu are you wanting to run in the motherboard.

Second check and see which bios supports your cpu.

Then look at the manufacturing date. If the bios is dated before your manufacture date then you are golden. If not some machines will still boot with unsupported cpu. Try it you should be able to flash the bios before you start installing you os. If you have any questions pm me i'll try to awnser. The best I can.
Related resources
April 9, 2010 3:21:58 AM

but if you go to the list of bios downloads, there is an f1.

http://www.gigabyte.us/Support/Motherboard/BIOS_Model.a...