Sign in with
Your question

System build

Last response: in CPUs
January 4, 2010 2:37:46 AM

Hello, I was hoping that someone could help me out with a little problem that I'm having.

I'm starting to build a new system. This will be my first one so I'm not an expert but I try to do my research to figure out what's new out there. The computer I have now is about 4 or 5 years old. It's a P4 3.4ghz runs pretty good for the internet and basic stuff like that but I like to play games as well and for that it's not so good. Originally I was just going to upgrade but then thought I would try to build one and then I could give this one to someone else. Anyway, this is what I have so far...

Cooler master haf 922
Cooler master 850w modular power supply
Creative sound blaster fatality titanium championship series
WD 1TB Hard drive (will probably add a second once it's done)
LG DVD (will probably add a blue ray one it's done)

my problem is that I don't know if I should go with the i7860 or the i7920. I like to play games although I'm not a hard core gamer, so I probably will just run a single GPU. At the very most I might run two but it wouldn't be for a while (I'm looking at the ATI 5850). I don't know much about overclocking although I might look into it more once this thing is done. Any advice would be great.

Thanks.

More about : system build

a b à CPUs
January 4, 2010 4:15:33 AM

i like the i7 920, if its in your budget. Its very Overclockable. I was able to get my friends up to nearly 4 Ghz on air.
The ATI 5850 is a good card.
I was always a Nvidia fan, and would rather wait and see if their cards trump ATIs or just push their price down. I know their cards wont be out for a while, but if your willing to wait, since Mass Effect 2 won't come out till the end of the month anyway.
a b à CPUs
January 4, 2010 4:48:14 AM

fermi is 3 months away, so i wouldn't suggest waiting. unless of course you can live with your current system til then.