king of rock

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2011
Hello, (this may be a stupid question), but I cannot seem to get to the bottom of this...Please take a minute to answer if you are feeling generous:

I want to save my old ide HDD in my new build (no OS or programs, just files)...which is using a Z68 board. I understand I can put it in an external enclosure and connect via USB, but can I instead

a) stick it in one of the 3.5" bays and connect it to a SATA connector internally somehow, or b) stick it in one of my externally accessible 5.25” drive bays and connect internally?

Thanks for your patience, I am new at this!

ram1009

Distinguished
Many newer MBs still have an IDE connector so I'm assuming yours doesn't. I don't know of another way to connect internally unless you could find a PCI board with an IDE interface. Why are you so resistant to an external enclosure?

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
Hawkeye22 has pointed you in the right direction - an adapter that plugs into the IDE drive's back connector and converts it into a SATA-connected device you can hook up to one of your empty SATA ports.

As far a physical mounting inside your case is concerned, you usually would have three options (depending on your case):
1. Mount in an empty 3½" drive slot just like any other HDD.
2. Mount in a front-accessible 3½" drive slot (like what is used for a 3½" floppy drive), and don't remove the slot front cover.
3. Mount in a larger 5¼" front-accessible slot and don't remove the slot front cover. However, in this case you will need to obtain a pair of adapter rails that fasten onto the 3½" HDD and make it wide enough to fit the 5¼" slot. If these are hard to find, check out shops with used computer parts - rails like this have been used also for mounting old tape drives in 5¼" slots.