Help with network upgrade

teemfubu

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2009
Our company is a small office of 15 computers, with a T1 connection. The T1 router is currently configured for DHCP and NAT. We have one public IP address, but we are looking to expand that up to 5 public IP addresses. The problem that we have encountered is that our ISP manages the router, and refuses us access. They will not enable NAT and DHCP with more than 1 public static IP address. I'm new to setting something like this up, so I hope I'm making sense so far.

What we are trying to accomplish is to have our Windows SBS 2008 server(which will be a web server) configured with one public static IP address, our FTP server configured with one public static IP address, and the rest of the nodes on the network should get their addresses through DHCP. My question is what would be the most cost effective solution to making this work, and if possible, do you have implementation instructions?

Any help is much appreciated!

-Aaron

Are you going to connect the servers directly to the Internet? I probably wouldn't do that if the SBS server is used to store corporate data. I presume that your servers already use a static IP address. If so, you could ask your ISP to reconfigure the router to forward port 21 to your FTP server and ports 80 and 443 to your web server.

teemfubu

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2009
I appreciate the response, GhislainG. Prior to the upgrade, our company was running a DHCP on the router managed by our ISP. It also handled NAT. We had port forwarding enabled, but the idea is that we are evenutally gonig to need a separate server, and therefore multiple public IP addresses for new clients. My boss is obsessed with this concept, so I am looking for a solution that allows us to do this.

We had port forwarding enabled, but the idea is that we are evenutally gonig to need a separate server, and therefore multiple public IP addresses for new clients.