Obligatory post about OC temperatures for I5 2500k

superjonesy

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2012
Greetings,

I am a long time lurker, first time poster so please take it easy on me.

I have done an extensive amount of reading prior to this endeavor and I feel more confident than ever before
when it comes to computers. However, my inexperience leads me to doubt my own testing and/or methodology.

I believe my system is stable due to the testing I have done, but as this is my first build ever, I guess you could
say I am looking for some peer review.

First, my specs:

Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Intel Core I5 2500k Sandy Bridge
Corsair H80 Water Cooler (Push/Pull intake)
16gb Corsair Vengeance 4x4gb DDR3 1600mhz 9-9-9-24
OCZ Vertex3 SSD (Boot Drive)
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200rpm (Data Drive)
Asus Black 12x BluRay Writer
XFX Double D HD7970 Black Edition 1000mhz 3GB
OCZ Z Series Gold 1000w PSU
Cooler Master HAF-X (with optional 2nd top 200mm exhaust fan)

Second, my overclocking results and testing methodology.

I am currently stable at 5.0ghz @ 1.365vCore. http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2239800

I am Prime95 stable for 6 hours. I am LinX stable for 3 hours using 60% of available memory. I am 3dMark11 stable.
I have worked with large vector art in Adobe Illustrator, including 3D rendering of extruded shapes.
I am Battlefield 3 stable.

Third, my temperatures as recorded with HW Monitor.

Ambient: 22C
CPU Idle: 35-38C
CPU Load: 68-71C

I ask of the congregation the age old question: Are my temperatures OK?

Can I sustain this without fear of damaging my components?
Should I return my Corsair H80 and get the H100?

I am looking to have the most stable, high performance overclock I can get. I am a professional graphic designer and hardcore gamer, I require a top end PC.

Suggestions to complete my build?

Solution
your temps are awesome for a 5.0 OC! I would have no problem running my system at those temps 24/7!