Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R SATA and fan connections

Last response: in Motherboards
April 12, 2010 1:06:45 AM

Hi all,

This is my first build and I have a couple (hopefully) quick questions as I'm putting everything together:

1) I read through bilbat's full sticky at the top of this forum and am confused on which SATA connections to use. I have my single HD connected to the SATA2_0 port. I don't know where to hook up the following: SATA DVDR, front eSATA on my case, and front SATA on my case (I have the Cooler Master CM 690ii advanced with the sata drive connection on top in addition to the eSata).

Any advice? My options are to use the other SATA2_1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, use the GSATA2_8 or 9, or the GSATA3_6 or 7. Bilbat's sticky suggested using the GSATA3 for DVD and eSATA, but I only have 2 of these and have three devices to connect.

2) I'm confused by case fan connections. My motherboard has Sys_Fan1, 2, and 3 connections (with #2 being speed controlled). Do I just take apart the leads on the fans at the small three pin connector and plug them in directly to the MB? Do they get powered that way? They all have the larger 4 port plugs (molex?) to connect to the power supply so I wasn't sure if I should just remove the end and plug them into the MB.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated. Sorry for the questions, but I'm a beginner!

System:
i7-930
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Corsair 650W
Samsung Spinpoint 1tb
Sony Optiarc DVDR
OCZ 6GB 1600
CM 690ii Advanced
Sapphire Radeon HD 5750
a c 177 V Motherboard
April 12, 2010 1:25:12 AM

Jeezus! [:lorbat:5] I'm confused myself - you've got enough SATA connections on that little board to populate a fair-to-mid-scale server!! I'll get this sorted out in a couple minutes - will help me to know (if you're still on-line) whether you intend to run some flavor of Seven on it??
Score

Best solution

a c 177 V Motherboard
April 12, 2010 2:01:28 AM

OK - here's a drive setup: