2 Questions about case and psu

cameron1791

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2011
I am new at building computers and wanting to know how do you choose a case? is all cases universal or are they specific to certain components i.e making sure it has all the slots ect..

2nd question is how to choose a psu, the system I am building is for gaming and will contain I5 2500k, Asus p8p67 3.0, and proberly a 1gb graphics card and a dvd RW drive and not sure about hard drive yet as you can see I am still in the set phase and just trying to figure everything out...

the case I plan to go for is cheap but looks alright in pictures - GALAXY 3 GAMING case.

Any other things to look out for or general advice would be kindly listened to.

Toxxyc

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011
For a power supply I'd recommend the Antec HCG 520W or the HCG 620W if you plan to keep it for a loooong time (and allow for XFirce/SLI with most cards). Other good choices include Cooler Master GX550, Corsair CX600 or GS500 and Silverstone ES 600.

In terms of cases, they are chosen primarily for security and cooling. You don't want a flimsy piece of plastic heating up your expensive components, and as such a larger sized case (Medium Tower) with sufficient cooling from a reputable manufacturer is highly recommended. "Budget" gaming cases falling in the "Excellent value for money" section will include the Cooler Master CM690 II Basic, Gigabyte SUMO-ALPHA, Cooler Master CM Storm Scout, Cooler Master HAF 912 and so forth. You'll notice Cooler Master has been named a few times, as their cases are of seriously good quality for a great price. If you have a little more cash to spend though, great cases to look at would include Antec, Thermaltake, Gigabyte and (according to me) the best cases on the market - Lian Li.

cameron1791

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2011