Output audio over Coaxial to AV receiver advice

chopkins

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2010
Hi,

I am a complete novice when it comes to sound cards so bare with me if any of this doesn't make sense but here goes.

I have an AV receiver that can handle Dolby Digital and DTS sound but at the moment I have a 3.5mm cable to 2 RCA connectors to transmit the sound from my PC to the AV receiver. My motherboard is a bog standard one that doesnt have any digital audio outputs and only has 3 audio outputs on the back: the line out, line in and microphone.

As I have a spare Coaxial connection on my AV receiver what I'd like to do is purchase a PC sound card which has a Coax output so I can send the digital audio signal from DVDs and games to the AV receiver.

From what I've read on here I think that means all I need is a basic sound card that doesn't need to decode the audio signal as the AV receiver can handle that, but to simply pass on the audio signal over the coaxial cable (although it will need to be able to understand Dolby Digital). Is this correct?

I've seen a basic sound card here which is the ProSound 7.1 at Maplins so would this be suitable for my needs?

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=226543&C=Froogle&U=226543&T=Module

Any advice is much appreciated

Petrofsky

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2008
It doesn't look like that card will do what you want. To get the surround sound from PC games to your receiver through its digital input, your card has to be able to encode the game audio before it sends it out. DVDs, CDs, and the like are already in digital format, and that signal can be sent straight through to the digital out, but games are behind the times in that respect.