Phenom II X4 965 Help a Oc Noob not blow up pc

watmore

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2011
I AM A NOOB AT OC!

Now we have that out of the way i am wanting to OC my 965 be.
Before someone says well find a forum or follow a video on youtube
to that i say No thank you. I do not want to miss interpret a step and
Damage my CPU and not know about it till its to late.

I know i need a few programs i have prime95 not that i know what to
do with it.

I know i need to work in the bios but what steps to take i know not.

So if someone could please walk me through that would be great.

Thank you.

* Windows 7 x64
*Antec Nine Hundred
*Antec KÜHLER H20 920
*Gigabyte GeForce 9600GT 512MB Zalman Cooler (GV-NX96T512H)
*Asus m4n82 duluxe
*AMD Phenom II X4 965 be 3.40Ghz
*WD 1T WD10eavs-00d7b1
*6g ddr2 Kingston 2g-udimm 3x2g
*Super Flower SF-800K14HE 800w
*Asus VS247 1080p HD LED 23.6"

Solution
There is a very good guide at the top of this section, thats as good a walk-through as you will get I'm afraid,
a lot here would say if you haven't researched/learned enough to give you confidence, don't do it
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/258573-11-black-edition-overclock-guide-raising-multiplier

Overclocking is like space travel, you make damn sure you learn everything you need to before you get going! :p
having said that, you have a Black edition chip so clocking is as simple as upping your multiplier in bios,
you should have a temperature monitoring program like hwmonitor, it can help you keep an eye on voltages too, and Cpu-z can tell you your corespeeds amongst other useful info,
Moto
There is a very good guide at the top of this section, thats as good a walk-through as you will get I'm afraid,
a lot here would say if you haven't researched/learned enough to give you confidence, don't do it
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/258573-11-black-edition-overclock-guide-raising-multiplier