New build not starting

dj_morton

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2009
First...I read the stickied boot issues thread.

Would the fan turn at all if it was plugged in? This is my first build, I'm 99.5% sure everything is plugged in correctly.

Solution
Sounds like a possible short. Did you perform the breadboarding step in the checklist where you build the system with the motherboard outside the case on a non-conductive surface?

dj_morton

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2009
LITE-ON Black 4X Blu-ray Reader SATA Model iHOS104-06 - OEM52600568

LITE-ON CD/DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model iHAS124-04 - OEM52600568

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-4GBRM - Retail52600568

AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor Model HDX945FBGIBOX - Retail52600568

Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2 / EPS12V version 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply - Retail52600568

SAPPHIRE 100269HDMI Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail52600568

GIGABYTE GA-MA790GPT-UD3H AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail52600568

masterasia

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009
What happens when you try to turn it on?
Do the fans turn on? Are there any lit LEDs on the Motherbord?
Do you hear any beeps? Do you smell any smoke?
Try shorting the connectors on your motherboard to turn it on,
maybe the wires on your power switch are loose?
Is the switch on the power supply turned on?
Are you using motherboard standoffs in your case?
Try starting it with just ram and processor plugged in to see if you get any activity.