Sign in with
Your question

New i5 system build. First time builder! Need some advice.

Last response: in Systems
October 21, 2009 10:39:17 PM

Hello everyone. This community is great! This is my first build, I am a little skeptical about building my own rig, but really can see the money savings. I have been in the market for a new comp forever and was going to settle with a 1099.00 dell, but its more then I need. The only hesitation I have is if the thing won't work - etc? So I just wanted to check in with you guys.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: This week
BUDGET RANGE: Around $800 Before Rebates - Would like to be as close to 800 as possible though.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, general use, surfing the net, writing papers, and just about it all.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg, Amazon, I do have a micro center 5 minutes away. So whatever.

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel i5 processor.

OVERCLOCKING: Possibly, not a major concern.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: unsure

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I would like an i5 build. Something with sli c/f capabilities down the road. The key here is, I would like to start out minimal i.e. - 500g hd - 1 graphics card preferable gtx260 or 4850 - something along those lines - 4g ddr3 ram, cd/dvd rw, and a Mid tower case - please nothing huge, that is quite.

I have no idea how parts are compatible, etc. So I just want to get a good set of parts that I know will all work together. Any and all recommendations would be greatly appreciated and very helpful.

Thank you
October 21, 2009 10:41:59 PM

You will have difficulty meeting your budget and needs with an i5 I think.
m
l
October 21, 2009 10:46:46 PM

Proximon said:
You will have difficulty meeting your budget and needs with an i5 I think.

I can go above that, but really don't want to. I fooled around on newegg and got an $840 quote. But I have no idea if the parts are compatible or not.

m
l
Related resources