rafoord

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2011
Hello,
I've been carrying out pc repairs for a couple of years now, lately I have been coming across more and more HDDs that I cant seem to repair or recover data from. So much so I'm now doubting my own abilities to repair computers!
I'd like to know what steps other are taking to recover hard drives and get them working again.
I always aim to repair before replace, what steps would you use to get a drive working again. Which software do you use, and what sequence do you run this software in.
Regards,
Roy

ulysses35

Distinguished

Repairing HDD's is pretty much impossible, usually by the time they fail the heads have crashed into the surface of the platters making recovery of data near impossible.

If you are able to power the HDD up still then using some free data recovery software may be able to salvage some info, but the emphasis is on may be able....

There is an old trick that has been known to temporarily work - use google to search for putting a hard drive in the freezer.