New HTPC audio question Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Audio
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
October 22, 2009 5:17:23 PM

Hello!

I just built my first HTPC. I am an experienced IT tech and have been doing my homework so I might already know the answer but I'm hoping someone can give me another suggestion. Here's hoping someone else has experience with the motherboard on-board HDMI I am using. here are the parts:

Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H Motherboard w/ AMD Athlon II 245 2.9ghz
Patriot 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
LG CH08LS10 BLACK 8XBD READ/ 16X DVD-RW BURNER
nMEDIAPC Black HTPC 6000B ATX
AVerMedia AVerTV H788 Bravo Hybrid TV Tuner

Yamaha rxv1900 receiver (3 hdmi inputs, supports all HD audio bitstreaming)

software: Powerdvd 9 ultra, Vista Ultimate

I just bought my first 2 bluerays to go with this system. XMen: Wolverine and Star Trek Wrath of Khan.

For now I am using the on-board motherboard HDMI cable for both audio and video. I will eventually buy a video card that supports bistreaming HD audio to the receiver via HDMI. Until then, I was expecting that watching a blueray since the mobo sound card can't output HD audio, that it would output standard DD/DTS instead watching a blueray. Instead I'm getting 2 channel PCM!

Am I forced to use optical audio to get standard DD/DTS input on my receiver for bluerays? I have not tested DVDs yet but they are not really a concern, I have always had DD/DTS for DVDs, it seems like this HDMI audio is worse than using optical out???

I hope someone has a suggestion on how I can wire this to get the best audio option. I'd rather use just the HDMI for simplicity of cabling but I have plenty of extra cables laying around to use instead if there's a better option.

thanks!

More about : htpc audio question gigabyte ma785gm us2h

Best solution

October 22, 2009 9:21:14 PM