Graphics card newbie, need to buy asap, please help

erics_dad

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2009
Hi all,

Found this forum today. Thought I'd ask because I'm basically clueless lol

It's a few more questions than just a graphics card so here goes.

What I want to do is upgrade my PC to use programs like Photoshop and After Effects (I'm new to AE though). I already can use these but man they slow down my comp because I'm only using the built in/on graphics card.

Having said the above, this is what my machine has:

1) Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz
2) 3.5GB DDR2 RAM
3) Vista Ultimate 64-bit
4) 420w PSU

I'm on a budget here (in the UK) so my budget is around £200-£250 which is roughly $330-$410 or so if that helps. Anyway, this is what I have been thinking about getting based on some research:

1) ATI Radeon HD4870 1GB GDDR5
2) Either a Corsair TX 650W PSU or OCZ StealthXStream 600w which is £20 cheaper but I'm reading mixed reviews
3) Probably something like Corsair XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 PC2-6400C5 so I can have 6GB of RAM not the strange 3.5 I currently have

Btw, I don't plan on gaming just using software like Photoshop and After Effects CS3 (not necessarily at the same time). I'm not a "heavy" user of either program but I do use Photoshop more often as I do web design.

The above would take me to about £250-£270 so a little over budget but I've heard not to scrimp on the PSU.

Any tips, advice, or overall yay or nay on any of the above would be appreciated. I don't have a graphics card other than whatever came as standard so I'm hoping with these upgrades that my comp will run much faster, smoother, and hopefully quiet! :)

Thanks for any help

Scott

x-nitrous-x

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2009