Sign in with
Your question

GA-EX58-UD5 and 12gb 1666mhz ram

Last response: in Motherboards
April 17, 2010 1:41:26 PM

Hello all,

I am a totally newbie with computers but i am trying to setup a fast new PC for video and sound editing.

I currently have I7 quad core intel processor, I am going to have GA-EX58-UD5 motherboard with default fans and cooling systems.

I have bought already 12gb (6x2gb) of 1600mhz Kingston hyperx rams.

I have now read from google that there might be some problems in trying to run 12gb 1600mhz ram in this motherboard.

I dont want to overclock my processor because I am just using a normal fan that came with the computer.

So my question is that what is the best settings for me to put in BIOS to get my ram in usage? I want a safe, stable and longtime solution for this so that there is no danger in me destroying my computer.

Should I run the memory in 1333mhz instead or what should i do? Or should I only put 6gb ram into my computer?

All help very much appreciated,

- Oskari
a c 177 V Motherboard
April 17, 2010 1:46:35 PM

Probably want to start by downloading the two GB X58 tuning guides mentioned toward the top of the 'sticky'...
April 17, 2010 1:56:58 PM

Sorry about that, I have already read the guides but the problem is that because I dont really understand much about computers, the language used in the guides is hard to follow and understand so I feel a bit lost..
Related resources
a c 177 V Motherboard
April 17, 2010 2:57:51 PM