Alex The PC Gamer

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2007
Hi guys, I'm quite new to overclocking so I ask for your patience and support.

***Edited***

I did some research so I decided to edit my thread instead of recreating a new one.

My System:
CPU: Core 2 Quad: Q6600 (Stock at 2.4Ghz) (B3 Revision)
Mobo: XFX 680i SLI Nvidia Motherboard
RAM: DDR2 800 *4 Gig (4-4-4-15-1T)
VCard: Zotac GTX 560Ti
PSU: OCZ 700W

My CPU Cooler is an Ultra ChillTEC Pelltier Cooler: http://www.ultraproducts.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=4143848&sku=ULT40494

My goal was to bring it, well as high as I could with good stability and reasonable temperatures.

I'm not done yet. But after almost 2 weeks of torture testing my PC, here are my results

I have yet to understand Ratios completely (although later in my testing i discovered the true timing of my RAM (so I realize that 5-5-5-15 you'll see in my first OC tests weren't optimal). From what I can tell so far, I've got good RAM but my Mobo isn't very flexible (in fact, it's being a pain). In comparing everyone's results, I find my results quite disappointing. I'm also quite disturbed by my 3Ghz CPU temperatures as I have a pretty good cooler and have applied Artic Silver 5 but somehow, the heat doesn't seem to transfer very well.

I also found the results quite interesting. For instance, I discovered that my CPU is bottlenecking my GPU (as graphics performance increases as I OC my CPU). I also found (not through these results) that my temperature readings (from my cooler's monitoring device) is way off. i.e. It shows 44C while CPU-Temp (the software) is showing 86C.

My testing is done with Prime 95 where I run the FTT test for CPU stability and the RAM test for Ram Stability. Each is usually ran anywhere from 25 minutes to 2 hours.

At this point, I'm looking for suggestions (any) whether it's about FSB:RAM ratio or how to better cool my CPU...or any other tip.

Thanks

Alex

Solution
G
howdy alex.