Is Intel Doomed? (Plus random stuff): Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

AMW1011

Distinguished
Well if Intel keeps delaying those 32nm quads, then... no they will be fine, but I'll be pissed.

Not that I plan on buying any, but they sure are exciting.

We shall see, Bulldozer will be a new architect and AMD will have the only reasonably priced 6-core CPU for a good long while it looks like. There might be some space for AMD to b*tch slap Intel, which would be great for competition, but it is too early to know.

OK, just what does that hammer do?? You've got my curiosity going now, plus I'm far too lazy to look up the 'badges of the day' stuff here on THG :D.

Agreed - I'd like to see AMD push Intel into releasing a 32nm quadcore at $199. Or drop the price on that hexcore to $399 :kaola:

I've been sitting on my thumbs for 8 months now, and am finally ready to build a new rig. Well, maybe after this weekend if I can whack a few bosses in Dragon Age - gotta keep my priorities straight :whistle: .

Kewlx25

Distinguished

sexacore

"dual" and "quad" are latin, "hex" is greek. CPU manufacturers just use "hex" as not to offend stupid people.

AMW1011

Distinguished
While your right Kewlx25, and yes it does sound better than hex, it is standard to call something that is made of 6 a hex, not sex.

If you look at the English language logically you will never understand it...

Upendra09

Distinguished
In some countries you can say Windows 7 is quickly taking most of the market share whereas in other places like mine, India, XP will be around for a long time. Here the HD5xxx series cards are way too expensive and are absolutely not value for money, so why bother about a DX11 card and why bother about a DX11 OS???
Most people have to dish out their 5 month pay in full to get an i7 rig.
People only wait for the pirated version of the Windows to hit the market! That's all!
That's why people here are happily buying AMD or LGA775 rigs now and are happy with it.