Sign in with
Your question

Am i missing something? (1800 ish system)

Last response: in Systems
October 24, 2009 11:55:32 PM

Let me start by saying this is my first time ever building a PC from scratch. I'm very new to the game, so please, any and all advice will be taken appreciatively. I've tried to research as much as possible, but from the looks of my list... does anything stand out blatantly that I am missing?

Here's the list:
Case - Antec 1200 - 124.99

CPU - Intel Core i7 920 2.66 GHz LGA 1366, 8MB L3 Cache, Quad-Core, Hyper-threading - 279.99

CPU Fan/Heatsink - Cooler Master Intel Core i7 v8 - 59.99

MoBo - EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - 284.99

Silver compound? - Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - 6.99 ( Apparently i need this stuff to connect the CPU / Motherboard? I have no idea...)

RAM - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM - 204.99

Video Card - EVGA GTX 275 FTW Edition, PCI-Express 2.0 x16, SLI-Ready - 289.99 (Free game too! Call of Duty:W@W)

Hard Drives - 2x Western Digital Caviar Black, 1TB, 7200-RPM --- Planning on putting two of these in a RAID-0 format.

BluRay/DVD/CD Drive - LG Black 8X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 40X CD-ROM SATA, 16x with Lightscribe - 129.99

SoundCard - HT | Omega Striker 7.1 Channels PCI Interface - 89.99

Monitor - LG W2353V-PF Black 23" 2ms(GTG) HDMI Full HD 1080P - 125.99

I Already bought the case and the monitor... but what do you think about this other stuff? Have yet to put the order in for the other stuff.

Thanks in advance!
October 25, 2009 12:03:25 AM

I forgot to mention that I also purchased the power supply ...

It's an 850w corsair modular PSU that went for 199.99 on Newegg.
m
l
October 25, 2009 12:06:34 AM

What will the PC be used for? Budget?

You don't need such expensive RAM. A 5850 is cheaper and would outperform that GTX 275. You don't need that sound card, onboard sound is fine most people.
m
l
Related resources
October 25, 2009 8:16:23 AM