Sign in with
Your question

New to water cooling. Need some advice.

Last response: in Overclocking
February 20, 2012 11:52:53 PM

Hey guys. I'm new to TH. I've posted before in the New Builds section for some advice. Now I need some help on WC.

Will a 360 rad with push/pull config be enough to cool a 3960X slightly OC'ed and a GTX 580 3 GB?

It will be in the NZXT Switch 810

If so, is this a good drawing of the setup?
Also, I want my res to be outside.
I plan to mount this res outside my case.
Is this a good res?

If not, can someone recommend a good setup.
A quiet one under minimal load (Watching movies, browsing, streaming music/videos)
It doesn't matter on a higher load as I will have a headset on.

And this is just an idea I had. Would it be possible to create a reservoir in the shape of a triforce?

The connectors between the triangles will most likely be solid.

Thanks for all your help.

More about : water cooling advice

February 21, 2012 1:07:09 AM

As far as you qustion about a 360 being enough for your cpu and gpu, the short answer is yes. Is it the most effect way? Not really. Think of it like this, If you have your Cpu being cooled and the warmer water being carried off to your gpu, the liquid is already going to be in a warm state, so the effectiveness of your cooler would not be ideal. It will still work, but a better option would be to keep your 360 rad (or even a 240) and get a second 180 rad. Something to the notion of Pump > CPU > 360 Rad > GPU > 180 rad > back to res/pump. That is the more efficient way, but more $$$. Im still relatively new to WC, but that is what I would do. As far as your resevoir question, I prefer internal stuff, looks less tacky, so I am not sure about mounting on the exteroir. Hope this at all helped Godd Luck!
m
l
a c 324 K Overclocking
February 21, 2012 1:27:00 AM

Loop order does not matter when it comes to temps.

I'm not sure I follow your triangle drawing...I don't understand what you are trying to do there.
m
l