Ultimate, price-no-object performance

brownegg

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2010
I am a long-time tech enthusiast who hasn't bothered to keep up with hardware advances in a while (it got a lot harder around 1995 or so, and I'm lazy). So I have a decent idea of what the different technologies accomplish and why, but I know very few specifics (of, for example, when and where SSD vs. SAS vs. SATA is best).

I am in a position to build a set of servers with a single goal: ridiculous performance. Because it's relevant, the use case is high frequency trading. That should give you an idea of the kind of budget I can have and what the potential rewards are. I don't know what flavor of *nix yet, but it will be 64-bit with a realtime kernel.

I will source W5590 chips if I can get them, so my first question is: which mobo? It seems that SuperMicro and Intel would be the safe bets. I need the X58 chipset obviously, but beyond that, it seems my biggest concern will be PCI-E 2.0 capability; we can easily end up dealing with data loads that push 10GbE close to max, and latency is the biggest issue we face. I'll probably be looking at 2-4 10GbE ports per box. (No interest in InfiniBand; we'll accept a small performance hit to avoid vendor lock-in.)

Beyond that, if these boxes won't be used for massive storage loads, how can I minimize the effect of disk activity? Is it just a matter of speed, and so the answer is SSD?

For those that know all the things I have questions about, I'm well aware that I'm in way over my head. But I have to start somewhere.

Thanks in advance for all help.

well if you need some density for power you could go dual LGA1366 with intel 5520 chipset

for 10GbE you only need pci-e 2.0 x4 per port (so if you have a dual port card, you would need x8 link, also 2 dual port cards would need 2 pcie x8 or better slots)