Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Core unlocking MSI 785GM-E51 & Phenom II X2 555

Last response: in Motherboards
April 20, 2010 3:39:13 PM

Just built a system with an MSI 785GM-E51 and Phenom II X2 555. Was wondering if anyone has been successfull in unlocking this chip with this MB, I have not yet.

I've set the ACC to auto, system boots up but does not register as a quad core.
I've also set ACC to auto and (I believe the EC firmware) to "special" at which point it begins to boot into windows and then resets itself.

This is my first attempt at unlocking so any help/information/links would be greatly appreciated. System performs great now, but would be a steal if I could unlock one or two of the other cores

Windows XP SP3
Phenom II X2 555 BE
MSI 785GM-E51
Patriot DDR3 1333 2x1GB
Seagate HDD 160 GB 7200RPM
Asus DVD-RW
Antec 300 Case, 3(120mm) fans
Antec 380W 80Cert

Upgrade Soon (Graphics Card)

My Budget build came in at $330.00

More about : core unlocking msi 785gm e51 phenom 555

a b V Motherboard
April 20, 2010 8:56:44 PM

Besides setting ACC to AUTO, you might also have to enable "Unlock CPU Core". This should be just above ACC in the BIOS.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
April 20, 2010 11:19:15 PM

Do you have a "Hybrid" choice in the EC Firmware setting?

m
l
Related resources
April 21, 2010 3:28:28 PM

I have not seen that setting. Its as obsolete99 says there is an "unlock cpu core" setting, which i thought might be the EC firmware setting, and I have two choices "enable" and "special". I've tried both in conjunction with setting the ACC to "enable". When using the special setting I start to boot into windows and just before it fully loads my comp resets itself. Other wise having both the ACC and unlock cpu core has produced no fruit. I have Bios version 2.4 and have noticed a version 2.5. I will dig a little deeper when I get back into town and see what other settings I have available.
Thank you for your response.

m
l
a b V Motherboard