Graphics Card on a budget?

G

I want to get Dragon Age Origins on the PC. Spec is as follows -

Recommended:
Core 2 Quad with 2.4 GHz (or comparable AMD CPU), 2048 MB RAM (XP), 4096 MB RAM (Vista), Geforce 8800 GTS or Radeon HD 3850 with 512 MB

My 9500GT graphics card is not up to scratch so I am going to get a new one, but there are so many and the prices vary greatly. Can anyone recommend one for £150ish?

G

Thanks. Looks good, but alot of reviews say the fan noise is an issue. Things like that annoy me, to be honest. Is there a card that is comparable thats less noisy?

Also how does it compare to GeForce GTX 285, that seems to be popular, but is £232.

What is more important, shader clock speed or processor clock speed?

What amount of stream processing units should I look for?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm quite new to all this.

G

That card is around £200 so it's over budget to be honest.

bige420

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2008
Thanks. Looks good, but alot of reviews say the fan noise is an issue. Things like that annoy me, to be honest. Is there a card that is comparable thats less noisy?

Also how does it compare to GeForce GTX 285, that seems to be popular, but is £232.

What is more important, shader clock speed or processor clock speed?

What amount of stream processing units should I look for?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm quite new to all this.
I dont think the fan would be very noticeable, only if you turn it up to high speeds.

The 4890 is about equal to the GTX 275, while the 5850 is a little better than the GTX 285. Both clock speeds are important but not ridiculously important. If you were to say overclock a 4890 by 75mhz your might only notice a 2-5fps difference.