Mem Frequency and Small o.c. help

LCBChef18

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2011
New: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231552&nm_mc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel&cm_mmc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel-_-Content-_-text-_-
Old: Corsair Dominator GT 6gb 2000Mhz

How do you set up timings and clock speeds on Ram?

I had asked this same question on another forum, and got this response.

"Manually enter your CL11 timings with 2T CR and DRAM voltage (1.60v) in the bios.
Initially shoot for 2000MHZ with your CPU bus set at 250MHz.
Obviously at 250 bus, you will need to adjust your CPU, CPU/NB, and HT Link frequencies as desired. "

I then replied with..

"In another thread I stated somewhere that i'm a pc building novice. I vaguely comprehend setting up timings and voltage. However bus speeds and ht link frequencies are something I know nothing about. If you could go into greater detail as to what these do, and what could be an appropriate setting that would be appreciated. I do know that settings like these are specific to each individual build though.

So I ask you guys the same thing I asked him. What is all that mumbo jumbo? Is that in turn going to help me achieve a slight overclock? I'm shooting for 3.8 using a coolerrmaster v8. 4.0 would be great but idk if the v8 can keep it cool enough. I'm completely new at this. Short of installing components I know absolutely nothing about overclocking and memory frequencies.

Build:
Crosshair V formula
1090t
ax850
G.Skill Ares 8gb
6850x2
F60 ssd (corsair)
wd 1tb hdd
Coolermaster V8 with 3 fans cooling it.
Case Haf X
Ignore the OC in the sig.

duxducis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
why mess with overclocking memory at all you have unlocked CPU just bump your CPU multiplier bit (~ +500mhz)
and amd 6850 to like 875mhz core 1100mhz memory
and that's your slight OC, ~20% boost
OC'ing memory give slight, pretty much useless performance boost in real world use

LCBChef18

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2011