Sign in with
Your question

H100 or nh-d14

Last response: in Overclocking
February 23, 2012 12:10:32 AM

hello there this is my first build and i am building it in an Rosewill thor v2

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

i am torn between the noctua nh-d14 and the h100

this will be a gaming build with either the Ivy bridge i5 3550k or i7 3770k
with a 600 series nvidia card

both have there ups and downs

noctua-
pros
1. cheaper
2. no need to replace fans
3. already have low profile ram
4. quite

cons
1. huge massive 1.2kg
2. ive been told it screws up your cases airflow not sure how true this is but yah
3. did i mention it is huge
4. not aesthetically pleasing
"is there another air cooler that will preform similar or better to the noctua and is better looking??"
5. a pain to deal with when trying to work in your case PAIN

h100-
pros-
1. aesthetically pleasing
2. easy to work with when trying to work in case
3. i have space for it :wahoo: 
4. a tinny bit better cooling
5.water cooling braging rights? "not really"
cons
1. more expensive
2. have to buy 2 more fans for it "already is replacing the top 200mm fan with two 120mm for cooling or may use 2 140 if i deicde not to use an h100"
3. did i meantion with fans its almost double the noctua price
4. apparently loud according to some people

the fans i will be using in my case are

4 cooler master sickleflows as the side fans replaceing the 200mm there $ 8 per sleeve
"are these loud or the people who say they are mounted them horizontly and didnt realize thats not good for sleeve fans"

plus these for all the horizontal places 4-5 if im getting a h100 or 2-3 if im not "may get a 140mm fan if im not getting the h100"
masscool bld-12025v1r 120mm 8.50 per ball bearing

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... fan