Need help pushing my Athlon II 630 x4

Rjwaters147

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2012
Hey, I've been overclocking my Athlon ii 630 x4 for a little bit now but I've always had the stock cooler on it since my temperatures were fine, but now I got a Cooler Master Hyper N520 and I'm trying to see how much further I can push my CPU. But the only problem I have is when I raise the fsb any higher than 245 in the bios, my computer will boot up without an overclock.

I have tried increasing my CPU voltage, I have tried lowering the NB frequency, I have tried lowering the HT frequency, and none have worked.

I know I can keep going too because I've hit 275 fsb using a program on my computer but I would like to have it boot from the bios at 275.

Am I doing something wrong?

Solution
Well that guy was already able to set his FSB to 260 on his 2nd post so I don't see how that helps RJ. You could try saving a custom Pstate but I'm really just kinda grasping at straws here

Rjwaters147

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2012
So I think I found out a bit more about it, if I'm right it's because I'm running stock ram that came with my computer so my computer wont let me increase my fsb because of the ram. How do I lower my ram multiplier or make it smaller to avoid this?

bardacuda

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2011
You should have an option to change your FSB : DRAM ratio in your BIOS. What motherboard and RAM do you have?
If you are just trying to find your max FSB for now then you will need to keep lowering your CPU, NB, HT, and DRAM multipliers to keep them all at stock.