Sign in with
Your question

GTX 570 Overclocking Issue.

Last response: in Overclocking
February 23, 2012 3:12:58 PM

OK.. Ill start with saying there are many questions and there is a lot to read..oh yeah and I don't know what I'm doing so if you think you have to patients to proceed, please do! Overclocking Stress test programs like OCCT always pass the test. I notice my overclocking instabilities during hours of game play. Recently I haven't been playing anything new and exciting so I left my overclock to 875MHz @ 1.075v. Ill get this out of the way first.. I have no idea what I'm doing when it come to overclocking. I just go by threads that I read but most are not helpful. I recently started playing Stalker COP, hours in to the game I got a black screen but could still here game play..as if my drivers failed or something. I know this game has many stability issues so I thought maybe it was the game. But after I alt ctrl del back to windows I noticed my overclock had reset back to stock speeds so I thought maybe I'll try something new.. (don't forget about the part where I said I don't know what I'm doing) So I thought to my self, give it some more voltage.. that's what people say to do when you have problems.. so I did I put it up to 1.088.. Then I had another thought.. I lowered the clock speed to 850 thinking id be double safe.. :/  anyway.. thought all was running well but this time maybe 30-45 minutes in to the game it completely froze followed by a Blue screen. Now my questions are as follows.. Should I have just upped the voltage? or just backed off the clock? Is it possible I should be lowering the voltage because my specific card cant handle that high of a voltage or is 1.075 a safe spot? If lowering the voltage is the case I would like to start from scratch. So if that is the case if someone could somehow teach me or guide me how to overclock from the beginning.. as in what voltage and clock to begin with that would very very much appreciated! I've read