HDD Failure, not showing in BOIS. Recovery Possible?

PIZZA Man

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2011
Hi I have a Western Digital WD2500 250 GB hard drive. For about the past six months or so it's been performing at about half what it's supposed to, so I figured it was nearing the end of it's life span. But it just kept goin and goin. I started slacking off a little on how regular I'd back up the most important things on my computer. My pictures. I'm a photographer and have a couple thousand pictures stored on this HDD. I did a photo shoot and the next day I went to make backups of the pictures I had just taken plus some from the past couple weeks onto an external drive when my computer suddenly turned off and then back on. I saw the bios flash, then it said that no primary boot drive was detected. I had taken near around 200 pictures that didn't get backed up and are still on that HDD. I'm so frustrated that this happened RIGHT as I was just starting to back up the files! So I decided to put it into another computer I have. I made sure the jumpers were set correctly, plugged it in, then fired up the computer. It said the same thing about no primary boot drive detected! I figured out that when the failed HDD is plugged in, the boot drive disappears (doesn't show in the BIOS), but when the failed HDD is NOT plugged in, the boot drive is fine and the computer boots up like normal. What I really need to know is what options do I have on data recovery on this thing? I really need those pictures! Would using the Knoppix data recovery trick work? Perhaps the freezer method even? Both? I do have a buddy in data recovery that owes me some money. Perhaps I could even convince him to look at it for me. What I want to know is what kind of options do I have? Sorry for such a long post, I apologize to anyone that actually reads the whole thing ;) Thanks in advance! :)

EDIT: I forgot to mention, about a day before it crashed it started makin odd noises, if that helps at all

Solution