Why do I have to re-install Windows 7 OS on my SSD occasionally??? Ugh

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2011
Hello all. I had my friend build me a pc about 3 months ago and he said to get an ssd as they are newer technology and way better than the old hdd. I am a novice when it comes to most of the computer jargon but can understand most of the basic concepts. Here's my question........Why do I have to re-install my Windows 7 os back onto my ssd about every month and a half when it seems to just take a dive on me? I have been reading a little bit about ssd trim and wiping and am pretty clueless as to what this means and how to prevent it from doing this in the near future. This is turning out to be a royal pain in the arse and I am thinking about saying the hell with having a ssd to go back and only use a hdd. Tired of having to re-install numerous things. The ssd card is an OCZ Vertex 3 series 120 GB. PLEASE HELP

Has nothing to do with Trim or Garbage Collection. You have either faulty hardware or the worst case of recurrent malware that I have ever heard of.

Something is defective, either on the motherboard or on the SSD. You can download diagnostics from OCZ and do an extended test on the drive; if it fails, return it for a new one. I sincerely hope that you keep backups.

What exactly happens when you need to re-install it? Does the system freeze, fail to boot, say that no boot device is found? Could the boot failure be due to some other component failing?

^ +1
(1) 2nd the more info and why you need to reinstall on a monthly basis. Have 4 computers, all with SSDs, and have jet to have to reinstall the operating system.
(2) The first check I would do is download as ssd. Open the program and verify that the Driver is the correct driver (upper left). For an intel based computer it should show msachi or iaSTor. AS SSD will also show an OL for partition alignment. NOTE: the Bios should be set to AHCI!!