Sign in with
Your question

Hard Drive Recommendations for my Laptop?

Last response: in Storage
September 13, 2011 10:50:00 PM

Hello, this will be my first time upgrading something in a laptop, so I'm very new to this. I'm looking to replace my damaged hard drive on my Gateway M series (not sure which model), I was able to find the model number for the current SATA hard drive through sudo lshw running Linux, in order to look up the drive to find its dimensions, which is: Height: 9.5 mm Length: 100.2 mm Width: 69.85 mm (I'm assuming I need to know this to make sure the next drive will fit?)

Anyways, if anyone could recommend some good/reliable/affordable drives that would be compatible I would greatly appreciate it! I don't need anything like a solid state drive, because I would like to keep the cost down, but at the same time I would rather spend a little extra for the 7200RPM over a 5400 and at least 250GB of storage.

Thanks in advance!
September 14, 2011 1:38:09 AM

Thanks for the links, found this one under "Compare Similar Items That Customers Also Browsed": http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

The price is nice and the dimensions are exactly the same as my current drive, except the length is 100.3 instead of 100.2, would it still fit? If it does, any reason why not to get it?

Thanks again.
Related resources
a b D Laptop
a c 116 G Storage
September 14, 2011 1:42:58 AM

godswrath said:
Thanks for the links, found this one under "Compare Similar Items That Customers Also Browsed": http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

The price is nice and the dimensions are exactly the same as my current drive, except the length is 100.3 instead of 100.2, would it still fit? If it does, any reason why not to get it?

Thanks again.