Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help with installing 2 OS on separate HDD's

Last response: in Windows XP
April 19, 2012 11:21:31 AM

Hello Everyone!

Newbie here with some questions about adding another HDD.

I built my pc a few years back, and installed Windows XP-Pro as the OS. I would like to keep that as my main OS.

I would also like to purchase another HDD and install Windows 7 on it. It is my understanding that this set-up is fairly simple. Here are my questions:

1.- Should I disconnect the HDD/Windows XP and connect the new HDD and load Windows 7?

2.- Would I encounter any problems/conflicts between the 2-HDD's with using 1-mo-bo and such?

Maybe someone could assist me for this installation, as I would like to install it without leaving anything out that should have been done while installing it properly.

Thanks in advanced!!!

John G.
a c 354 $ Windows 7
April 19, 2012 4:39:38 PM

If you don't care about swapping drives or unplugging each one when you want to swap OS boots, you can unhook one drive, install 7 on the new one, and then do just unplug that one, plug in the original when you want to boot XP.

If you want them both available in a boot menu, hook up the second drive, run the 7 setup, select the second drive as the installation path.
m
l
April 19, 2012 5:25:29 PM

hang-the-9 said:
If you don't care about swapping drives or unplugging each one when you want to swap OS boots, you can unhook one drive, install 7 on the new one, and then do just unplug that one, plug in the original when you want to boot XP.

If you want them both available in a boot menu, hook up the second drive, run the 7 setup, select the second drive as the installation path.

Thanks for the reply!

I have xp on main HDD presently. I have another HDD on the way for delivery. When I get the new HDD, can't I just unplug the main HDD with windows xp already installed on it, then plug in new HDD and load windows 7 onto it?