First time OCing s PC

Miester

Honorable
Feb 17, 2012
i am building a PC and i want OC it

AMD Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Deneb 3.7GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core
CORSAIR CWCH60 Hydro Series H60 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 CL9
GIGABYTE GV-N550WF2-1GI GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 SLI
GIGABYTE GA-990XA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Advanced RC-932-KKN5-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive
Rosewill RCR-IC001 40-in-1 USB 2.0 3.5" Internal Card Reader
Windows 7

im new to OCing and not sure if should try to OC the CPU to 4.0 the memory to CL 7 and dont even know what to OC the video card to so some input and ideas on this would help i put all components because i dont lnow if they affect the OC proccess

Solution
None of those things are very memory intensive or require a huge amount of processing power, so no you'd not gain much of a benefit by OCing it. You might gain an FPS or 2 in games by OCing the CPU over 4GHz and office might load a little quicker, but OCing the memory isn't going to make a noticeable difference. The SSD will have a huge effect on loading times as compared to a normal hard drive and you will gain a lot of extra performance in games by upping the video card.

calinkula

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2008
From an OC perspective, the PII 980 is really close to the max frequency you can get out of those chips. It'd be smarter to save some money and drop down to something like a PII 955 or a PII 960T. The chips will max out at roughly the same frequency, it's more about luck of getting a good chip.