Sign in with
Your question
Closed

New pc, looking to overclock "safely"

Last response: in Overclocking
February 25, 2012 9:47:11 AM

ok, so i am getting a new pc on tuesday, was a little restricted financially and here is what i ended up getting..

intel i5 2400 cpu
asrock z68 pro3gen3 mobo
gskill 4gb 1600 ram
gainward gtx560 non ti vga card

I am looking to overclock if it is worthwhile for my system. i have read that possibly my sytem wont gain a whole lot from overclocking? I am new to this, and any help would be greatly appreciated. so is overclocking worthwhile / necessary? i guess my other query is, is it a individual process, like can i overclock the graphics card without overclocking the mobo or cpu? and vice versa. cheers.

More about : overclock safely

February 25, 2012 10:19:26 AM

supposedly your cpu can be pushed towards 3.6ghz, which is fairly minor, but something.

Your thread is rather packed with questions. I will be brief because my leg hurts and most of this can be found with a google search.

You can overclock your g.card and your cpu, or just one of the two or neither. Pushing your cpu to overclock at 3.6 will not be dangerous. Overclocking both your gcard and cpu is recommended if you plan to see any noticable difference in gaming. Fully cranked out, your OC might only produce a couple more frames per second, but that is highly dependent on the software. For this reason we can not specifically tell you if your overclock will be "worth it", but at least you will learn something.

Overclocking often involves raising the stock voltage of hardware. This creates more heat and can be dangerous with insane overclocks. If you have adequate case ventilation this will not be an issue with a minor overclock.

if you need any help learning to oc your cpu just type a related query in google....that or youtube "how to overclock it 2400". Get back to us if you have any questions. ENJOY
Score
February 25, 2012 10:30:32 AM