Distinguished
Sep 28, 2009
My System:

Asus P6T Mobo
Intel i7 920 (oc: 3.8 ghz 1.2125V )
6 gb ocz 1600 ddr ram (3x 2gb)
EVGA gtx 260 (216 core factory SC)
Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler
Cooler Master HAF 922 Case (stock fans no addional ones)
22x sata dvd-rw
4x WD 640gb HD sata (7200 rpm)
1x 200 gb IDE drive (7200 rpm)

My PSU:

500 watt Antec (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817103940)

I've been running this build for a couple of months now without problems. I got talking with some friends about this system and they told me I needed like 650 watts minimum 750 recommended for this kind of build. I was like I'm running great at 500 watts. So I went to some online calculators and they told me I needed like 450-480 watts, and so I was like maybe I'll be okay. Then I read something about capacitor aging and that I might need more power later on.

So My questions are:

1. How do I know if my computer has enough power? Are there signs to look for to see if its running low? (I can run stuff like prime95 for hours)

2. Is there any program that can tell you how much power your PSU is drawing, or do you need some kind of hardware meter?

3. If I decide to buy a new PSU I would get one good enough so that if i do two video cards later and add extra fans that it could handle all this.

Thanks All!

The reason your PC is working fine is due to the PSU actually outputting a bit over 500w. Your friends are right, you need at least a good 650w if you plan on doing any future upgrades. Your GPU alone requires at least a 500w PSU so a future PSU upgrade is beneficial to your system =)

Not sure of any programs that tell you how much power your system is pulling but you can use this calculator just to get an idea of what you need :

http://www.corsair.com/psufinder/default.aspx

My suggestion would be at least a TX650 :

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005&cm_re=TX650-_-17-139-005-_-Product