Sign in with
Your question

AMD FX-60 on Foxconn C51gu01 MB gets to XP screen and then reboots?

Last response: in Motherboards
April 23, 2010 7:44:56 PM

Hi, I need some serious help with this so someone please help! I have a GT5032 Gateway that had a good 4400+ 64x2 chip but I wanted to upgrade, I thought it should be as simple as dropping it in? Did I need to disable 'cool n quiet' first? The computer turns on but only gets to the xp screen then goes to the countdown to start wondows normally, safe mode etc., over and over. When the 4200+ it came with went bad I couldn't get anything on my monitor at all, so myself don't believe the new processor is bad, but I'm new to this so please bear with me! Thanks in advance.

Gateway GT5032
Foxconn C51GU01 mobo.
2.5Gb (1x1 & 512x3) PC3200 DDR
320GB 7200RPM SATA HD
780W PSU
22in 4:3 LCD
PNY 9600GT 1GB
Z-5500 5.1
uBTX Case
a b V Motherboard
April 23, 2010 7:59:04 PM

Do you know if that board/bios supports the FX-60? The FX60 was the last 939 chip so subsequently only the newest bioses/boards support it.

If you go into the BIOS, does it name the chip/recognize it?

You can try running memtest86+ 4 (bootable) to see if the system is hardware stable.

Do you have a second partition or hard drive that you could install another copy of Windows on?
m
l
April 23, 2010 8:09:57 PM

In the bios I can see the temps and voltage of the cpu but it doesn't show the specific cpu, unless I can't find it, I don't believe it did before with the other cpu's either, just the temps and voltages. I do have a spare hard drive, does installing the OS update the bios? Thanks for replying!
m
l
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
April 23, 2010 8:12:37 PM

No, unfortunately finding and updating the BIOS on a prebuilt (Gateway, Dell) can be a pain, if one even exists.

The windows reinstall is just to see whether this is purely a software problem (in which case the second windows will work) or a BIOS/MB problem.
m
l
April 23, 2010 8:24:21 PM