Solved

Which WD Caviar Black Model Number(s) preferred for Gaming Build?

Which WD Caviar "Black" Model Number(s) are the preferred HDD's for Gaming Build?
-- I need some guidance.

After reading about various "gaming builds" on THG, and seeing Western Digital Caviar 'Black' mentioned quite often, I decided to purchase one. However, when I went to Western Digital's web site to look at their list of "500GB WD Caviar Black" drives, I saw they had nearly 20 of them! Although they stated '500GB' on each, the prices on their list included some that were nearly $1,500.00, or more! One of them had its weight listed as 33.3 POUNDS! I have no idea why. The web site offered no descriptions that explained the reason for the huge prices. I'm a real novice at shopping for a new drive.

With too many choices (and, without being able to understand what the heck the differences were between the drives they listed), I came here for some "real" explanations.

I want to buy the "best" model available, as far as quality, speed (seek/access, etc.), dependability, warranty, etc. It can be either a 500GB, 650GB?/750GB?, or 1.5GB.

I'm looking for specific WD MODEL NUMBERS (for the one/s Tom's Hardware builders recommend for gaming), so that I can then read more about the drives, find best low price, etc.
7 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about which caviar black model number preferred gaming build
  1. Where are you buying from, so we can review your available options for purchase?

I'm actually a bigger support of the Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB drive, which can typically be purchase at the same price of the 500GB Blacks with better performance.
  2. Thanks, tecmo34. I normally buy from TigerDirect.com, but will also buy from Newegg.com. I never buy from Amazon!
  3. The Black, Seagate 7200.12 and Spinpoint 7200.12 all do well in certain area w/ no overall winner. Look at these and pick which one does best in your specific applications.