Can a pc have better performance from a server machine?

daredevilxxx

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2009
I am an engineer.I need new pc for my engineering application.My friend has server machine that intel xeon w3520 and nvidia quadro fx580.Unfortunately price 2000$.I want to get pc that is gonna has core i7 and GTX 275.Can this pc have better performance from server machine?

I can't speak for the graphics cards, but the Xeon W3520 is essentially identical to a Core i7 920 except that it suports ECC memory. From the standpoint of the CPU, if you have an i7 920 or better then it will perform as well or better than the server machine. The advantage of the Xeon is that it will detect and correct memory errors on the fly if the system actually uses ECC memory.

W Craven

Distinguished
May 8, 2009
If you can find one of the old g80 chips 8800GTS 320Mb/8800GTX .. there are soft mods out there to turn them into a Quadro on the software side.. they will not run like a full on Quadro but will run many of the apps and you can buy the cards for $40-100 buxs.

+1 for sminlal and W Craven. (The old 8800GTXs can be had for ~$75-80 or lower now).

@OP:
Assuming you are OCing, the i7 920 can hit ~4Ghz with a good air cooler, this would make it quite a lot better than the stock Xeon. HOWEVER, realize that you will give up ECC if you do decide to get a i7 920.

drmattstevens

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2010

What MOBO and ECC memory combination did your frien use in his Intel Xeon W3520 ? I am consider the same setup for my devel work -Matt aerosys@aerogeomatics.com

andrewcutter

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2009