Overclocking - advantages and do I even need to?

thetechnoobguy

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2011
What are the advantages or disadvantages of overclocking?

Here is what I'm getting:

GPU: nVIDEA GTX 570 or 650 Ti (I will SLI in the future, but not for it least a year)
RAM: 8GB
HDD: 1TB 7200RPM
PSU: 500W+
MOBO: Z68 LGA 1155
CPU:

now for CPU, I was originally going to get either the i5 2500k or 2550k, however that's only for overclocking. I'm interested in overclocking, but I'm not exactly sure if I really want to or need it.

What I plan on doing with this rig is hardcore gaming, maxing everything out, + possibly multitasking on top of that. But maxing everything out is top priority, plus it needs to be future proof in order to max out new games with higher graphical capabilities (perhaps a Crysis 3?) Could I do that fine with just an i5 2500?

Also, how easy is overcloking to a complete beginner? Is it just a click of a button or how does it work. Also what is Turbo Boost and is it similar to overclocking?

Thanks and please reply some of my posts get almost no replies...

master_nz

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2012
I just build a PC and threw in a 2500k. It overclocks like a beast, currently running daily @ 4.5 GHz. Its very easy to over clock these CPU, mostly just changing the multiplier and few other settings. Many guides out there. Best to invest in a Heatsink if your going to overclock, as got to keep those temps down. Would recommend cooler master 212 evo.

Do you need to over clock to play the best games? most likely not as the GPU will be limiting factor for demanding games. But to get the most out of your investment i would go for it. Also helps in benchmarks.