ECC Overclocked phenom IIx4 960t

chosen12k6

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2012
ECC (engine control center also referred to as ccc catalyst control center) has a built in amd overdrive function. I used this to overclock my amd phenom IIx4 960T processor my specs should be in my sig. Only addition to my system is a coolermaster hyper 212 plus. Just for reference I used the thermal compound that came with the cooler and it lower my stock setting 3.0ghz phenom from 30c idle to 19c idle, 45c under load to 30c under load no higher than 35c. Here is my question: It seems as if I can push this bad boy even further since the safe temp under load is 50-60C (If I am mistaken plz comment it below). Using amd overdrive automatically tested my "system" if you will and determined 3.6ghz is the highest it can go. In my opinion this looks to be wrong It looks as if I could push it to 4.0 maybe even 4.4ghz is there another way besides ECC that this can be done. Also I am a noob on overclocking and unlocking cores. Does my mobo have the ability to unlock the possible additional core or cores. Thanks for any advice or suggestions ahead of time.

System Specs: Asus M5A97 mobo, AMD Phenom IIx4 960T BE, 8GB HyperX RAM, Seagate 7200rpm 500gb HDD, Antec Green 500D watt PSU, Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus. Raidmax Atlas 295wb case

Here is a good place to start: Ryan's AMD Black Edition Overclock Guide (Raising Multiplier)

Within the BIOS you incrementally raise the CPU multiplier and test for stability and temps along the way.

Read your motherboard manual for the core unlocking features and procedure. You should disable the Turbo function in the BIOS, and the CPB ('Core Performance Boost') ratio should be disabled or set to 1:1.

Solution

lowjack989

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2009