Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking Need Help!

Last response: in Overclocking
March 3, 2012 2:48:50 AM

I just built a new gaming system and I am having some issues with overclocking.

Setup:
i5-2500k
asrock extreme3 gen3 z68
corsair 850txm
8gb 1600 ram (corsair)
corsair h60 (not push pull yet need the screws to make it work)
haf 922
1tb hard drive

I am no overclocking pro, this is my first exploration into it besides for pressing the oc genie button on my msi board. I have done my research and have explored several differant sites looking for info. Most say I should be able to easily attain 4.5 with about a 1.25v oc however im running into some issues. It seems to be able to stay stable, already moving up to 1.285v and still not getting stable at 4.5 I'm not sure if this is normal or if I'm doing anything wrong. My temps still haven't gone past 50c but I have only been able to run prime for a few seconds due to it shutting down. Any help would be awesome.

More about : overclocking

March 3, 2012 2:59:24 AM

im not a pro either and am having my own issues, but I have heard people say lower the CPU PLL a little and it can help stabalize an overclock. I think stock is like 1.8 and lower it to 1.791? Just 1 or 2 clicks down on that board, i have the same board, my issues are that i keep getting random power outtages, i hope my board isnt bad =[
m
l
March 3, 2012 3:07:03 AM

i had my pll down to like 1.71 or whatever was the one closest to 1.7. I heard some people were having issues with this board and I hope mine isn't a bad one. I don't know if not having a graphic card effects it or anything since it will arrive tomorrow. I put in quite a bit of time trying to figure it all out but I just don't know what to do, even at 1.285 volts a cored instantly errors in prime95. Sometimes on my cpuz it doesn't show my multiplier correctly. I don't know if thats normal or not.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
March 3, 2012 3:17:44 AM